THE BAD AND GOOD ALIKE!

by

It never ceases to amaze me how some phrases from scripture are just so right for me! One such phrase is from last Sunday’s Gospel, the parable of the wedding feast, from Luke 22:1-14. My current favourite phrase is taken from the words of the host to his servants. He tells them to go out and search high and low and bring in to the feast all the people they can find “bad and good alike”. There it is! That “bad and good alike’ just thrills me because it means for sure that there is a place for me in the Reign of God – and indeed for all of us who wish to be included. I have shared that phrase and how I understand it four times already and it’s only Tuesday! Oh the wonder, the power, the joy of God’s love so tellingly captured in that one simple phrase.

Leave a Reply

