Inconvenience

by

Recently I made a journey which should have been very simple but instead turned out to be really complicated and inconvenient. Not in any major way, but just in countless small ways – delayed flights, missed connections, no food or water on the journey… lots of small inconveniences.

I was lucky though – unusually I had left a lot of time for the journey and wasn’t on the last minute, so although it was inconvenient for me, it wasn’t a major problem. At more than one point during the journey I felt myself getting irritated – and then realising that there was no-one really to blame. It wasn’t actually anyone persons ‘fault’ – it was just the way things were working out!

It was quite interesting to reflect on my attitude – when I was still sure I could make my connection I was stressed out about it… and felt irritated with anyone who was ‘in my way’; but as soon as I realised this and resigned myself to finding an alternative route, I became so much calmer, was able to relax and even to see the funny side.

Later I reflected too on my attitude to inconvenience – I noticed how minor the inconveniences I was experiencing were: It was uncomfortable not to get a drink, but I knew that one would be available when I arrived; it was tiring to have to wait and wait for a connection, but in the end I was aware I had other alternatives and securities that I could call on if I really needed to. May these petty inconveniences lead me to a deep gratitude for all that I have, and enable me to live more generously towards others.

Leave a Reply

