Archive for April 9th, 2017

THOUGHTS IN THE HOSPITAL WAITING ROOM

April 9, 2017

As I sit and wait for the various tests associated with a routine medical check up it strikes me that hospitals are places to sit and wonder. I wonder what all the other people are waiting for. I scan their faces and try and imagine why they are sitting alongside me. Some are clearly not well and awaiting relief from their obvious suffering. Others, anxious and solicitous, are accompanying loved ones. There are those who leave the consulting room with faced gripped by tension. Others leave laughing and relieved by receiving good news. We represent a wide  spectrum of age, ethnic group, religion and personality.  I am especially struck by the children who are weary and listless and with little understanding of why they are in pain. I am also deeply touched by the elderly people who have come from their villages to seek help. Dressed beautifully in traditional clothes they wait patiently for the doctor, their faces, hands and feet telling of years of toil. I find myself praying for all of us. May this day bring us all a good diagnosis. I give thanks for the gift of life and the simple signs of health I take so much for granted. May God grant us all health and zest for life.