Walking 1000 Miles

by

I enjoy New Year. Mainly because I enjoy new starts. I don’t usually make a load of ‘resolutions’ but I do usually settle slowly on one or two actions or choices that I think will have a positive impact on my life. Generally sometime mid-January I have worked out what they are going to be.

This year my dad gave me an idea – he was talking about #walk1000miles – advertised in a magazine he enjoys. The idea is simple -try to walk 100 miles in the course of the year. Initially I thought it was ridiculous, but then when I looked into it I realised it was actually quite possible and I decided to do it!

We are only on 11th January… but here are some positives already (apart from the obvious health benefits):

  • walking-feet-167elff.jpgIn order to walk 2.75 miles per day I need to go for a walk even when working from home. So I am meeting my neighbours a lot more.
  • Others have joined me and been inspired by the challenge.
  • A group of students I know are joining me to raise money for charity.
  • Walking clears my head and gives me reflective space.

So watch this space – or join me and #walk1000miles!

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Walking 1000 Miles”

  1. clarefcj Says:

    What great idea Lynne…I am going to give it a try too. At least I will take the spirit of the idea – I may not manage the 1.75 miles each day – but I will do my best…Thanks to you and your dad for the idea!

  2. Lynne fcJ Says:

    2.75 Miles Clare – so get walking!!!!

Leave a Reply

