God is revealed in the particular.

by

I spend much of my time doing spiritual direction or retreat work. It is a very privileged ministry where I get to ‘watch God at work’ in someone else’s life. Often this prompts me to recognise God at work in my own life too and that can be a very inspiring, and at times challenging, thing.

Recently I have been drawn to focus on how God seems to reveal Gods-self not in generic ways eg “God loves all humanity” (which I am sure is true!) but in particular ways eg “God loves each human person”. This insight stretches further – God’s love of me might be seen as a generic thing… but God loves and cares for me in each aspect of my life… that is an amazing and life changing thing.

“Love all God’s creation, both the whole and every grain of sand. Love every leaf, every ray of light. Love the animals, love the plants, love each separate thing. If you love each thing you will perceive the mystery of God in all; and when once you perceive this, you will thenceforward grow every day to a fuller understanding of it: until you come at last to love the whole world with a love that will then be all-embracing and universal.”

― Fyodor Dostoyevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

Leave a Reply

