Love Lifts

by

bird

I once asked a bird,
“How is it that you fly in this gravity
Of darkness?”
She responded,
“Love lifts
Me.”

Hafiz

Have you ever felt overwhelmed by the sadness and suffering around you? I felt that way watching the news yesterday when I saw the footage of mourners at a funeral in Yemen being caught in a bomb strike. Its beyond my comprehension. And yet we are somehow connected both to those who were mourning and to those responsible for the bombing.

Perhaps the only response I can make is to open myself to love. Open myself to becoming more connected. Open myself to compassion. May Love lift us. Make us more human.

Leave a Reply

