To be ‘Sent’ in everyday life

by

It seems to me that the world is mainly changed by small, insignificant actions. Most of our lives are lived in tiny ways; getting up in the morning, meeting people, eating, working, relaxing. Even when we consider the most important relationships of our lives washing-up_1886717cwe realise that whilst there are some key events or emotions which shape those relationships, the vast majority of the time we give to that relationship is spent in small and ordinary tasks and interactions.

So, reflecting on what it means to be ‘sent’ takes on a new quality in the light of that realisation. Sometimes I would like the way in which God sends me to be some great mission or world changing task, but God sends me each day in the ordinary things of life – in the way I can be patient with someone, the care I can take, the generosity I can show… God’s will is not separate from my ordinary life, it is to be found and lived out within the small and concrete tasks.

I have come from heaven, not to do my own will, but to do the will of the One who sent me. Jn 6:38

5 Responses to “To be ‘Sent’ in everyday life”

  1. Joan Cartlidge Says:

    A good reminder, so for this I thank you Lynn Love Joan fcJ

  2. Tamzin Simmons Says:

    A lovely post, Lynne, in which you spoke the truth. Hope you and your sisters are all doing well.

  3. MariJoxe Says:

    Today in the afternoon my mum has been looking after my brother´s little dog, a duty she would not ever imagine doing… and yet, those are the ordinary things… make him drink, exercise a bit… to help my brother… nothing important… your words are the explanation.

  4. Maryrose fcJ Says:

    Thank You, Lynne, for a fresh insight into what ‘being sent’ means;it helps me to remember I’m ‘sent’ every day.

Leave a Reply

