TIME AT HOME KEEPS MY FEET ON THE GROUND!

by

I am so fortunate to have time at home with my family.  These weeks spent in the North East of England always provide me with a good dose of realism and remind me of how hard life is for so many people.  I see groups doing their best to welcome migrants and refugees at the same time as facing the challenge of real urban poverty.  This is area is in shock and mourning at the news that the nearby steel works is about to close – with the resulting loss of thousands of jobs. Yesterday I went to a nearby town.  I walked along the High Street looking at the shops.  About a quarter of the shops were closed and most of the rest were “Charity shops” (selling second-hand goods) or “Cheap shops”. There were very few full price shops.  Grinding poverty shows its’ face in many parts of the world.  I am reminded to be grateful for what I have and more open to the needs of others.

2 Responses to “TIME AT HOME KEEPS MY FEET ON THE GROUND!”

  1. Beatrice Molyneux Says:

    Thank you Clare for your observations and comments. It is very hard in some of our northern towns. Thanks too for taking time to blog even on vacation. United in our efforts to live as poorly as we can. Beatrice fcJ

  2. Mary Says:

    This is a beautiful, thought provoking piece. Thank you for helping to keep my feet on the ground too.

Leave a Reply

