Reflection for the Fifth Week of Lent

by

And I, when I am lifted up, will draw all people to myself…

Christ of St John of the Cross: Nuclear Mysticism
(Salvadore Dali, 1951)

Christ of St John of the Cross:
Nuclear Mysticism

(Salvadore Dali, 1951)

This Sunday’s Gospel (John 12:20-33) has much to say about following Jesus:

Whoever serves me must follow me, and where I am, there will my servant be also. Jesus promises that if we follow him we will be with him, where he is, in his company, in companionship!

Whoever serves me, the Father will honor. We are invited to become one with Jesus in his mission: Just as the Father sent me, so I send you. (John 20:21) But this verse indicates we will also share in God’s glory, cf. The glory that you have given me I have given them, so that they may be one, as we are one. (John 17:22) Truly another manifestation of the self-emptying of God, of Jesus.

“And I, when I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all people to myself.” He said this to indicate the kind of death he was to die.” In Salvador Dali’s painting we see Christ crucified lifted high above the earth and below we see a fishing boat and perhaps we can recall Jesus words: “Follow me, and I will make you fish for people.”

In the letter announcing the Year of Consecrated Life we read,Consecrated life is in fact a continuous call to follow
Christ, and to be made like him. “Jesus’s whole life, his way of dealing with the poor, his actions, his integrity, his simple daily generosity, and finally his complete self-giving, all this is precious
and relates to our personal lives.”
(Pope Francis, Evangelii Gaudium (The Joy of the Gospel))

FCJ Word
We must consider attentively how important it is for us, Faithful Companions of Jesus, to accept and desire with all our strength that which Jesus Christ our Lord loved and embraced. We endeavour to love and seek with great earnestness whatever will distinguish us as his followers … For he gave us an example that in all things possible to us we might seek, through the aid of his grace, to imitate and follow him since he is the way which leads to life. (cf. Constitutions 17, 66)

As we follow Jesus, do we treasure the gift of being ‘with him, where he is’?

Leave a Reply

