PARENTS OF SPECIAL CHILDREN – A TRULY AMAZING VOCATION

by

Today I attended a Mass for Children and Young people with special needs.  I went with Mei and Rowena, our novices.  It was especially pertinent that today’s readings were on the subject of vocation and call: 1 Sam 3:3b-10,19 and John 1: 35-51.  As I reflected on the readings at the same time as watching how lovingly the parents were interacting with their children it struck me that I was witnessing the living out of a true vocation.  We know that all people are called by God and that parenthood is one of the most vital vocations there is.  This is particularly true of the call to be the parents of children and young people with special needs.  Every month at the end of this special Mass one of the parents shares her or his experience as a parent with the whole group.  Today I was deeply touched as one of the men spoke of his belief that he had been chosen by God to be the parent of a child with special needs.  If ever I am tempted to think I have a hard life I know that others have been called to a life that is far more challenging and grace-filled than mine.  I thank God for parents.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “PARENTS OF SPECIAL CHILDREN – A TRULY AMAZING VOCATION”

  1. MariJoxe Says:

    Clare, I thank you these words. I am Godmother to one nephew with special needs, who is deeply in love with Jesus. He teaches us to be fine with who he is. Yet, the real teaching to me is coming from his parents, and brothers. Anytime I meet them, I get perplexed about dad and mum´s dedication to him, their perseverance and resignation -tough-… and the funny and natural touch of their brothers when treating him. Just a glimpse of what they go through daily and I go away baffled… and asking for God´s blessings on them… and like you, thanking for them.

Leave a Reply

