SACRAMENT OF RECONCILIATION PRIOR TO CHRISTMAS – GOD REVEALED IN MANY WAYS…

by

We made it into the church just as a fierce storm burst overhead and the darkened clouds released a deluge of water.  I was accompanying one of the novices to church for the Sacrament of Reconciliation.  I had been the day before and came to show the way to the church as we were away on retreat and in unfamiliar territory.  I found a quiet spot in the middle of the church far from the many groups of people who were waiting at various points around the building.  Given the number of people I knew I would be in for a long wait and settled into a peaceful time of prayer.  After a while I found myself observing the people who were waiting.  There were the very young and the elderly, there were school age children, teenagers and vast numbers of young people – some of them sitting close to boyfriends and girlfriends as they waited.  Some people were alone, others came as a family or in groups of friends.  There were parents taking their small children to Reconciliation.  I was especially touched to see a number of women and men taking tiny babies in with them.  There were students, retired people and some people who were clearly coming straight from work – with brief cases and laptops in hand.  I found myself aware of the most incredible sense of God’s presence: in that vast array of people, in the awareness that people were there to receive the Sacrament of Reconciliation, in the presence of the Blessed Sacrament, in the sound of the rain pounding on the roof and bouncing on the paths and roads outside and in the sheer power of the storm that continued to rage above us.  I was struck by the unity of all things in God.  On that afternoon it seemed that all things were in cooperation to offer an almost tangible way of discovering something of God revealed in every aspect of life.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “SACRAMENT OF RECONCILIATION PRIOR TO CHRISTMAS – GOD REVEALED IN MANY WAYS…”

  1. Geralyn Says:

    Reblogged this on Keeping Company.

  2. Geralyn Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this with us. I could imagine the people around, and yes… Each one was a revealing of God’s presence.

  3. Ruth Says:

    Thanks, Clare – a lovely reflection which I found by chance as I was looking to see what the temperature is here in Bucharest before I venture out!!!! Have a lovely Christmas!! love to all, Ruth

Leave a Reply

