Advent week 3 – I will greatly rejoice in God, my Saviour!

by

A quote from NT Wright, retired Anglican Bishop, superimposed on an image of a radiant and exultant Mary meeting Elizabeth.  (Picture credit:  http://howard-carter.blogspot.ca/2010_12_01_archive.html)

This Sunday the first reading from Isaiah is echoed in Mary’s Magnificat: the Spirit of God is upon me, God has anointed me, sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, looked with favour on my lowliness, done great things for me and holy is his name! I will greatly rejoice, exult in God my Saviour.

In Mary the Church is all who journey together: in the love of those who go out to the most fragile; in the hope of those who know that they will be accompanied in their going out and in the faith of those who have a special gift to share. In Mary each one of us, driven by the wind of the Spirit, fulfils our own vocation to move out!

Pope Francis prays that Mary
help us to bear radiant witness to communion,
service, ardent and generous faith,
justice and love of the poor,
that the joy of the Gospel may reach to the ends of the earth,
illuminating even the fringes of the world
.
(Letter written in preparation for the Year of Consecrated Life, February 2014)

FCJ Word
Like Mary, Mother of Jesus and Mother of the Church, … we are sent to proclaim the Truth, Jesus who is alive and lives among us, who is Son of God and Saviour of the world. (FCJ Constitutions 3)   Liviing out of surprising abundance …. causes us to treasure even smallness as gift. (FCJ General Chapter 2013)

Do I recognize how God has looked on me with favour?
Do I greatly rejoice in God, my Saviour?

 

Leave a Reply

