Postulancy – a time of questions – An Insight into FCJ Formation

by

The word postulancy comes from the Latin postulare – to ask. So postulancy is essentially a time of asking: The postulant may be asking lots of questions of herself, of God and of the FCJ Society – Is this the life to which God is calling me? Is this where I will be fulfilled? Do I have the capacity to live religious life? And the community is also asking questions – Do we feel that God is calling us as a group to accept this person? Does she have the same spirit and capacity to live as a Faithful Companion of Jesus? Can we provide a place in which this person will flourish as a religious?

Usually the time of postulancy lasts between 6 months and 2 years. Often a postulant lives in community and may continue with her own work for a period of time. Michelle has just completed her postulancy and entered the novitiate. She writes:

michelleI became an FCJ Postulant in Calgary, Canada in September 2013.  When I entered, I was a 38 year old teacher who had grown to know the FCJ Sisters progressively over the course of two years.

A few months later, I was invited to move in with an FCJ community in London, England.  In February 2014 I joined the Sisters at SomersTown in downtown London for a five month stay.  During this time, I agreed to spend part of my time volunteering in a local school and in a drop-in centre for street women.  I also participated in the life of the community by helping with the grocery shopping, cooking, housekeeping and community prayer.

Throughout my stay, I was encouraged and supported by the Sisters to grow in my relationship with Jesus through regular input sessions with one of the FCJ Sisters, personal prayer, faith-sharing, spiritual direction, Exposition of the Blessed Sacrament and participation in a variety of other opportunities that arose during my time in London, ex.  Biblical scripture classes.

Living as a postulant in London was both a challenging and a rewarding experience.  It took time for me to adjust to being so far from home and to being part of a community of women, as I had lived by myself for years and had never resided outside of Canada.  However, as my relationship with Christ deepened, I grew to see that this was, in fact, the life that God was calling me to and I gradually grew to embrace all of those things that had been new and unfamiliar to me.

Now, as a Novice, I look back at my Postulancy as a time where Christ was patiently leading me through all of my doubts towards a more joyful and love-filled life.

5 Responses to “Postulancy – a time of questions – An Insight into FCJ Formation”

  1. helenmaryfcj Says:

    Thank you for your beautiful story, Michelle.

  2. Jo Ann Burden CIM Says:

    I hope your joy and love continues to flourish.

  3. fcjteam Says:

    Reblogged this on FCJ – T.E.A.M. and commented:
    Postulantcy

  4. clarefcj Says:

    Thanks for writing about your journey Michelle!

  5. rduffyfcj Says:

    Thanks Michelle. It is inspiring and encouraging to hear how God guided your search from Canada to London. May God continue to show you the path of life, the fullness of joy in God’s presence. Psalm 16

Leave a Reply

