The first steps on a surprising journey – FCJ Formation

by

Taking the first step of articulating an interest in religious life can be exciting, challenging, bewildering … we may feel we are not ‘up to the task’ or that people will think we are crazy. Perhaps it is a long held dream and we know people will support us. Whatever our initial feeling, taking that first step is a pretty significant time!

Another thing that can be difficult is to know where to look – there are literally hundreds of different communities and so it can seem overwhelming, and yet in my experience taking the first step is what is important – God seems to be already there helping you to discern what is right as soon as you make a step.

Audrey is an FCJ postulant from Singapore, she currently lives in Manila . She writes about taking that first step in finding which congregation she felt called to:audrey

There is a joke that goes, “What are 3 things that the Pope doesn’t know? First, how much money the Franciscans have; second, what the Jesuits will do next; and third, how many women’s congregations there are in the world.”

When I first starting thinking about religious life, the sheer number of possibilities was bewildering. If I were a man, I thought, it would be so much easier – I would go to the Jesuits! But looking around on the internet, I discovered that there were also women’s congregations practising Ignatian spirituality. The FCJs were the first to reply my email enquiry, and invited me to visit them in Yogyakarta, Indonesia. After three days with them, I knew I had found what I was looking for. The sisters completely upended my stereotype of nuns – they were smart and talented and loving and funny, and they rode motorbikes!

Over the next year, I kept in touch by email, discerned further with a spiritual director, visited Yogya for another week, and then applied for postulancy. Now I am in Manila, learning to love a culture completely different from my own! God surely delights in surprises.

5 Responses to “The first steps on a surprising journey – FCJ Formation”

  1. Maryrose Dennehy Says:

    What a very relevant, positive and “happy” article. Thank you, Lynne and Audrey.
    Maryrose fcJ

  2. Geralyn Says:

    Reblogged this on Keeping Company and commented:
    Some vocation news from our Province.

  3. Sr. Ann Marie Says:

    Thank you, Lynne and Audrey for this beautiful and honest sharing. Blessings, Ann Marie, fcJ

  4. fcjteam Says:

    Reblogged this on FCJ – T.E.A.M. and commented:
    For the next while I will be posting these reflections on the journey of FCJ initial formation as described by Lynne FCJ

  5. clarefcj Says:

    Thanks Audrey!

Leave a Reply

