Let my horror change me

by

Who could fail to feel horror at the statement from the Nigerian Islamist militant group that the girls from Chibok were to be sold as slaves?

It is as though we are seeing the world waking up – international support, social media and internet campaigns, demonstrations are growing as the horror and personal impact of this atrocity sinks in. The hashtag #BringBackOurGirls says what many of us feel – these are not some unknown people in a foreign place, but OUR girls. They are our sisters, our daughters, abducted and being sold like cattle.

The truth is that that statement of intent to ‘sell’ girls can be made because there are people who will buy them. The hard truth is that that does not only happen in places far away from me, but in every place – women, children, men are trafficked, sold because there is a market. How complicit are we in that? Do we know the Where? How? Who? of our clothes, our food…

We must call loudly #BringBackOurGirls – for the girls whose names we know from Chibok, and for the many other nameless and faceless victims of human trafficking.

Let my horror change me, make me more aware, more courageous to speak out, and more alert to where I am in some way complicit.

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Let my horror change me”

  1. fcjteam Says:

    Lynne, Just wanting you to know that your reflection has touched me deeply. So, much so that I used it as part of our staff prayer this morning here at the FCJ Centre in Calgary! Thank you for your very profound musings on this blog.

    Denise

  2. fcjteam Says:

    Reblogged this on FCJ – T.E.A.M. and commented:
    Profoundly touched

  3. Lynne fcJ Says:

    Thanks Denise for your encouragement.
    It is so important to share prayer, raise awareness and encourage reflection so that each of us is changed!

  4. Geralyn Says:

    Reblogged this on Keeping Company and commented:
    Thank you, Lynne.

  5. Esperanzaypaz Says:

    Awareness and words are important. Yet, as I reflect on these abhorrent events for the past few days I am wondering whether I would find the courage within me to do the only thing that really can save these innocent children, namely take action, put myself in their place, offer myself in their stead, stare the evil in the face that they are seeing right now, be our Lord’s eyes and ears, hand and feet, embody his love and compassion and be willing to suffer for them as He suffered for us… And, if I could find the fortitude, how could I go about it with the expediency called for by this horrendous emergency. And I am not sure I have the answer. And sadly, I believe, that is what may set us apart from our early Christian brothers and sisters who walked with Christ who fearlessly stood up for the Way.

  6. jcarfcj@gmail.com Says:

    Dear Lynne, your blog truly hit the spot. Thank you for putting into words what we are all feeling. Words, prayers now move into action! Blessings on you regarding this and other issues. No matter who we are, where we are and what se are we can all do something. Blessings on you Lynne Joan fcJ

  7. clarefcj Says:

    Thanks Lynne – YES – May our horror at this horrendous action – and at every injustice in our world change us and change our hearts. May we stand together at we speak out and ACT to bring peace with justice into our world.

Leave a Reply

