GROWING IN FAITH AND UNDERSTANDING – REDISCOVERING VATICAN II

by

To mark the Year of Faith one of our local parish churches is hosting a series of twelve meetings on Vatican II.  Tyas and I are attending them.  It is good formation for Tyas as part of her novitiate and a great “mini renewal” for me!  So far there have been three meetings:  1. An Introduction to Vatican II  2.  Liturgy and  3. The Church.  The input has been really good – a refreshing reminder of the depth and beauty of our Church!  It is so good to spend this time with a hundred or so others all of whom are keen to know more about the Church.  Already I am looking forward to next week’s input!

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “GROWING IN FAITH AND UNDERSTANDING – REDISCOVERING VATICAN II”

  1. Sharyn Says:

    It is wonderful to revisit Vatican II. And, I think, Pope Francis as the writer below has suggested will bring an Ignatian slant to what he says.

    Pope Francis on Hidden Idols
    by Jim Manney

    Pope Francis’s public remarks have a decidedly Ignatian slant. Consider this from his weekly audience–about what Ignatius calls “disordered attachments:”
    We have to empty ourselves of the many small or great idols that we have and in which we take refuge, on which we often seek to base our security. They are idols that we sometimes keep well hidden; they can be ambition, a taste for success, placing ourselves at the centre, the tendency to dominate others, the claim to be the sole masters of our lives, some sins to which we are bound, and many others. This evening I would like a question to resound in the heart of each one of you, and I would like you to answer it honestly: Have I considered which idol lies hidden in my life that prevents me from worshipping the Lord? Worshipping is stripping ourselves of our idols, even the most hidden ones, and choosing the Lord as the centre, as the highway of our lives.

    Thought I would share this, Sharyn

  2. madeleinefcj Says:

    I love both of these posts and thank you both for posting. I was led to reflect that Pope Francis seems to be taking very seriously his role a “Formator in Chief”. I find his words really INVITATIONAL, not merely informational or inspirational….. Perhaps my feelings arise because he brings an Ignatian slant to what he says…. And yet, when I re-read the documents of Vatican 2, especially Gaudium et Spes, I seem to find an Ignatian slant in them too!!!! Perhaps the Ignatian slant comes from my heart !!!!!!!

  3. Sharyn Says:

    Here is another Igatian Slant that comes from the heart. I often use this for reflection especially when I need a gentle reminder of just to whom I am given. Sharyn

    A Prayer from Father Pedro Arrupe SJ (1907-1991)

    Nothing is more practical than finding God, that is, than falling in love in a quite absolute, final way. What you are in love with, what seizes your imagination, will affect everything.

    It will decide what will get you out of bed in the morning, what you will do with your evenings, how you will spend your weekends, what you read, who you know, what breaks your heart, and what amazes you with joy and gratitude.
    Fall in love, stay in love and it will decide everything.

  4. clarefcj Says:

    Thanks to you both Sharyn and Madeleine…This “dialogue” on Vatican II stirrings is really energising!

Leave a Reply

