New Beginnings

by
Today is a new beginning for me – a new face to my ministry, a new place to live and a lot of new faces… in some ways it is very exciting, in others quite daunting. But I realise that today’s new beginning started a long time ago – perhaps three or four years ago – it began with a feeling of restlessness, a feeling a bit like I imagine a caterpillar feels as it begins the process of metamorphosis – a sense that I was different, bigger, more radically committed than the externals of my life seemed to indicate. I had NO IDEA that there was a change afoot… but suddenly and with a moment of complete clarity it happened… and I said YES.
Here is a wonderful poem that might speak to you about the new beginnings in your own life.
For a New Beginning
In out-of-the-way places of the heart,
Where your thoughts never think to wander,
This beginning has been quietly forming,
Waiting until you were ready to emerge.
For a long time it has watched your desire,
Feeling the emptiness growing inside you,
Noticing how you willed yourself on,
Still unable to leave what you had outgrown.
It watched you play with the seduction of safety
And the gray promises that sameness whispered,
Heard the waves of turmoil rise and relent,
Wondered would you always live like this.
Then the delight, when your courage kindled,
And out you stepped onto new ground,
Your eyes young again with energy and dream,
A path of plenitude opening before you.
Though your destination is not yet clear
You can trust the promise of this opening;
Unfurl yourself into the grace of beginning
That is at one with your life’s desire.
Awaken your spirit to adventure;
Hold nothing back, learn to find ease in risk;
Soon you will be home in a new rhythm,
For your soul senses the world that awaits you.
~ John O’Donohue ~
(To Bless the Space Between Us)

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “New Beginnings”

  1. Anne Collier Says:

    Thank you sisters. I have had this feeling for a while and now I think I may have an idea where I need to go.

  2. Denise Says:

    Lynn, Many Blessings and Godspeed to you on your new beginnings!

    What a beautiful poem… it speaks to me so profoundly as I too embark on a journey quite unexpected. I retired from my position as the Supervisor of Religious Education and Family Life with the Calgary Catholic School District after 17 years and as a teacher prior to that for 13 years. Eight of those 13 years in Toronto in schools administered by FCJ’s.

    During my last year with the Calgary Catholic School District I took on the Coordination of the Together Enabling Adult Ministry program at the FCJ Christian Life Centre in Calgary, and this renewed in me my calling to once again live more intentionally as a lay person, the FCJ Charism, which is so much a part of who I am at the depth of my being.

    I am now to embark on an ever deepening embodiment of what it means to live as a lay person blessed with the call to be a Faithful Companion of Jesus, as I respond with my “yes” to the position of Acting Director of the FCJ Christian Life Centre in Calgary.

    It is with great enthusiasm that I embrace this opportunity, confident in the inspiration and strength of the Spirit. Indeed Courage and Confidence, but above all great Confidence.

    “The call is clear; It is imperative that we listen. God waits expectantly for our “fiat”. God will use our desires, our efforts, our words and our actions; in the power of the Spirit, we must be the love, the peace, the mercy and the justice in the world.”
    FCJ General Chapter 1983
    That They May Have Life (forward)

  3. Rachel Fcj Says:

    Thanks Lynne and Denise for the inspiration. God will use our desires. ‘We can offer you nothing that you do not have already except our love.’ (‘Magnificat’ morning prayer) I am beginning the second year of life in England after 23 years away. With you I give thanks for the opportunities God gives to us, great and small: ‘Give me only the love of you and your grace for these are enough for me.’

  4. Denise Says:

    Rachel, many blessings as you begin your second year of life in England after 23 years… I imagine a lot of letting go…and a lot of embracing the journey you now find yourself on!

    I did want to take the opportunity to thank you for and article entitled “Why Celibacy?” http://www.isiswomen.org/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=561&Itemid=200 , you wrote several years ago which affirms and speaks to me so well of your offering God your love & giving thanks for the opportunities God gives to us, great and small: ‘Give me only the love of you and your grace for these are enough for me.’

Leave a Reply

