“WELCOME!” – PART OF FCJ CHARISM!

by

I have stayed in a number of FCJ comunities in recent weeks and each time my experience has been the same in a number of ways. The first words I heard when I arrived at each house were “Welcome, how good to see you! Make yourself at home.”  It’s amazing how quickly I do feel at home in FCJ houses – perhaps because we have a commitment to live and pray together and also, of course, because we believe in the importance of companionship.  As FCJs we try to make all those who visit our houses feel welcome.  I really believe and experience that hospitality is one expression of our charism.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to ““WELCOME!” – PART OF FCJ CHARISM!”

  1. Denise Says:

    Hospitality is indeed one expression of the FCJ Charism. I have experienced this as well each time I have visited an FCJ house.
    Recently I made a private retreat at Sacred Heart Convent in Calgary and was overwhelmed with the kindness, care and concern for my comfort and well being expressed by the sisters there.
    It is interesting that this blog entry should appear now, as I am pursuing what FCJ sisters’ experience is of the Charism and how they live it. I am interested in this because I am very much steeped in the essence of Faithful Companionship of Jesus and have tried to live this throughout my life and in my ministry. I am now involved in Adult Ministry both as the Coordinator of the FCJ Together Enabling Adult Ministry program in Calgary and teach educators at St. Mary’s University College. I am trying to reflect the Charism in how I approach these ministries, the content, as well as the embodiment of the Charism, for “Good Example Does Much Good”.

    • clarefcj Says:

      What a beautiful reflection Denise – thank you! I am sure we have a lot to learn from your reflections.

  2. fcjteam Says:

    Thanks Clare,
    I have a blog that is dedicated to the FCJ Lay Ministry program in Calgary. I recently wrote a reflection on the Feast of Mary Magdalene. Please take a look if you like.

    http://fcjteam.wordpress.com/2012/07/22/the-feast-of-mary-magdalene-july-22/

  3. fcjteam Says:

    Hello again,
    Moved by prayer… another blog entry… check it out if you like! http://fcjteam.wordpress.com/2012/07/28/i-commit-to-you-all-that-is-and-all-that-holds-my-heart/

    Blessings

    Denise

Leave a Reply

