Time Lovers or Clock Watchers

by

Waiting for the New Year to arrive seemed to take so long this year, with my first New Year’s greeting coming at 8.30amon the 31st December.  It was a text sent from my sister who lives in New Zealand and although I still had a whole day of waiting ahead of me, she had indeed entered the New Year.

As the day continued I was in contact with people in various countries and with family and friends back home in the UK. New Years greetings arrived five hours before I had even thought about entering 2012.  Being from the UK I had never experienced different time zones in the same country so when as a community, gathered here in Toronto, we celebrated the arrival of 2012, the Western Provinces were still anticipating the arrival of the New Year some two hours later.

On New Years Day we gathered for community prayer and I was really struck by a verse of a New Year Blessing Prayer written by Edward Hays.  It read:
Bless our clocks and watches
            You who kindly direct us
to observe the passing of minutes and hours.
May they make us aware of the miracle
            of each second of life we experience.
May these our ticking servants
            help us not to miss that which is important,
            while You keep us from machine-like routine.
May we ever be free from being clock watchers
            and instead become time lovers. 1

As we live this first week of a New Year, I hope and pray that I can truly become a lover of time, and more importantly the opportunities that come my way in this New Year.  I hope also not to become so enslaved by ‘our ticking servants’ that I miss the gift of the present.  May 2012 be a time of real blessing for you and all you love.

1. Prayers for the Domestic Church, Edward Hays, page 93

One Response to “Time Lovers or Clock Watchers”

  1. clarefcj Says:

    Thank you for this reflection Anouska. Thanks for the reminder to live in the present also….How I wish I could do this…

Leave a Reply

