The Garden

by

Our garden is a bit of a wilderness but I love being out and pottering about in it. The weather here hasn’t been great, so for the winter months the garden has been left more or less to its own devices. Today I went to clear away all the dead leaves and the plants that had been hit by the frost. As I pulled and weeded ready to prepare the ground for this year’s growth I came across clumps of crocus that had been totally hidden from view by the debri around them. Wonderful signs of new life and growth.

2 Responses to “The Garden”

  1. Madeleine, fcJ Says:

    Love those garden pictures!!!!!! We have crocus blooming here, too—deep purple ones and yellow ones…. I like your color, too…… Each day I try to work some in the garden, but there is so much to do!!!!! It is a thrill to see the new growth. As I work, I pray that God is doing to the garden that is me (weeding, pruning, fertilizing, watering, admiring (!?!), caring for this small plot of earth that is Madeleine, just what I am doing to the garden at our house………

  2. Joanna Walsh, fcJ Says:

    I have never been much of a gardener, but I did plant some daffodil bulbs last fall. So now I am feeling the joy of seeing these perky flowers announcing the coming of spring. The mystery of life growing in the dark, earthy places and suddenly becoming visible. Reminds me of the pregnant woman I am accompanying in spiritual direction. She and I are both aware of the third person present, unseen but very active! Again, the mystery of growth and development happening as we simply watch and wait!

Leave a Reply

