Lent

by

I wonder if anyone else is like me about Lent? When Lent arrives I am FULL of energy and enthusiasm… every Lent I am DETERMINED to become holy and generous and kind. For at least a week I manage to keep up the new-found spark of energy … and then suddenly I realise that I am fed up, tired, narky and need a huge bar of chocolate to put things right!

Perhaps the lesson I never fully manage to learn is that Lent doesn’t rely on my efforts, but on letting God act. So this year when I find I have failed in every one of my resolutions I am going to try to remember that God is still calling me, still loving, and probably having a good laugh at my frustrated enthusiasm!

2 Responses to “Lent”

  1. Ash Says:

    I am so with you on this! For me, I tend to not aim at giving up a food or facebook or something else material wise. While I have yet to decide, I like it to be something of a action for God, maybe prayer or keeping my space clean or cutting down on things I do not need. While giving up certain food may create awareness of an issue, there more than that! 🙂

  2. Madeleine, fcJ Says:

    The older I get, the more I realize how it is really ALL God’s doing…. even when I think I am responding to God, sometimes it’s clear that it’s only through God’s grace that I am able to respond!!!!!

Leave a Reply

