Advent, a time of becoming

by

I spend a lot of my time at work dealing with teenagers who for one reason or another are in trouble!  Some people wonder how I can do it – they think that teenagers can be awkward, difficult etc.

The thing I love about my job though, is that it reminds me almost every day that basically most people are trying their best and want to be liked, popular, clever and good! There are very few teenagers that I have dealt with, who I could say want to fail or be considered rude or cheeky!

Generally each one of us WANTS to become a better person, each one of us WANTS to succeed.  Maybe Advent is partly about that call inside each of us to grow more and more into the best person we can be… perhaps our teenage years are simply a time when that growth first becomes our personal responsibility!

Leave a Reply

