First impressions of meeting the Sisters – Sr Anouska FCJ

by

I think one of the most amazing experiences I had was upon first contact.  From initally receiving the letter inviting me to a Vocations Weekend I sensed there was great life within this group of women.  When I arrived at Katherine House, I felt straight away that the missing piece of my life had just been found, like I had come home.  I couldn’t always explain this but the best image I had was that my life was a jugsaw and 3 of the 4 pieces were there but I had been searching for that sense of completeness and upon meeting the FCJs for the first time, it was there and it is a sense that has never left me.
 
With the FCJs I am whole (though not holy) which is what my initial thought about all religious was, that they were all very holy and I couldn’t be one because I was not holy enough.  I now realise being holy is not the essential but being whole is what leads me on each day.

(Submitted by Anouska fcJ)

Tags:

One Response to “First impressions of meeting the Sisters – Sr Anouska FCJ”

  1. Sr. Madeleine Gregg, fcJ Says:

    Dear Anouska,
    When I first met the FCJs, I, too, thought that I wanted to be with them and near them, to get caught up in their holiness…. I had a vision of this great body of women sweeping in heaven, and me caught up in the draft and getting into heaven on their tailcoats, as it were….. It took a long time to understand that Jesus, our Faithful Companion, does the work in us to make us Faithful Companions, too!!!!!!!!! I also had that sense of “coming home” the first time I actually met the FCJs. They were in Rhode Island, a little state I had not previously visited, and I lived in Pennsylvania. I went for most of Holy Week, and I knew right away I’d found my heart’s desire…..

Leave a Reply

