The Gift of Companionship

by

I woke later than usual this morning and felt quite weary after a weekend that was full of activity.  As I got out of bed I was aware of the beginnings of a headache playing around the front of my mind.  I was struggling to find the energy that would take me to campus when some of Lynne FCJ’s words came back to me.  In her post “Everyday stuff” of May 29th, Lynne had quoted Pedro Arrupe SJ on falling in love with God:  “What you are in love with…will decide what will get you out of bed in the morning”  Thinking of those words gave me the spiritual energy to get through the day.  I was reminded that my love of God had got me out of bed this morning – the  same love that would move me out to minister to others. 

God’s love for me, my love for God – and the loving companionship of FCJs like Lynne carried me through this day.  It is now almost 11pm here in Yogya – and I made it through the day.  One of the things I love about being an FCJ is that I have such great companions – to be on mission with all of them is also what gets me out of bed every morning…

Leave a Reply

