Witnessing to Faithfulness

by

rainbowYesterday I went to our Parish for the vigil Mass. The congregation is usually small, and fairly elderly, but people are friendly and they know each other. They are always delighted too when someone new arrives – in many ways it’s a lovely Parish to be in. During the liturgy, and particularly as I watched people going up to communion, I was struck by the faithfulness of some of those people – clergy come and go and we often have visiting priests, the liturgy varies with them, as does our singing, but at the end of the day, the people that make up that little congregation are still there, still welcoming, and faithfully present. I find it quite humbling, particularly when I claim to be the ‘Faithful’ Companion of Jesus.

2 Responses to “Witnessing to Faithfulness”

  1. clarefcj Says:

    Thanks Lynne. You remind me of something I once heard about the importance of going to our local church – if we only ever “pick and chose” where we go to worship according to our personal tastes – we risk missing out on the experience of being “catholic”…universal. I loved your description of your parish, I felt as if I was there with you.

  2. Sr. Madeleine Gregg, fcJ Says:

    The beautiful thing about our name is that it is so inclusive: so many people are trying to be faithful companions of Jesus!!!!! Our choices reflect our desires to stay close to Jesus, to imitate him, who is the way to life……

Leave a Reply

