Open Mindedness

by

Today in our Parish the homily was based around the Spirit speaking through many diverse people, each with their own story, their own gifts and talents.

What Clare shared about companionship is in many ways another example of that Pentecost experience – that each person I meet, no matter who they are, what their life is like, can teach me and reveal to me something of God, and that sharing and exchange can be enriching.

2 Responses to “Open Mindedness”

  1. Catherine fcj Says:

    Lynne, last Friday Iattended the funeral of a young man of 29 who had committed suicide He was gay and spent much time walking the streets of Liverpool among the gay community and the prostitutes warning them of the dangers of sexual diseases. Our church, which is large, was full to overflowing with a real “motley” crowd of all descriptions. I was so touched by the witness of this “motley crowd” as the Requiem Mass proceeded. The music varied from Beyonce to Panis Angelicus!! What a loved young man he had been. As you say -“each person we meet, no matter who they are, what their life is like, can teach me and reveal something to me of God.” These people certainly spoke to me of God.

  2. clarefcj Says:

    Thanks Lynne and Catherine for sharing your “sightings” of God. I too felt I saw God in many faces this weekend…I was in The Cathedral of the Good Shepherd, Singapore, for Mass on Pentecost Sunday…It was a deeply moving experience…The weather was extremely hot and the church was packed with a diversity of people from many nations…The choir was fantastic and as they began to sing I felt myself at one with all those present, with God and with the Universal Church…It was a Pentecost moment and I felt bonded in love with all those who were present in the church as the organ burst forth and we sang our hearts out!
    Clare fcJ

Leave a Reply

