Everyday stuff!

by

When people ask “What’s religious life like?” I tend to explain all the big things – prayer, community life, relationship with God… but I was thinking today that it’s also about all the ordinary things that make up our lives too – its about how I recognise God in the everyday events, the decisions I  make about what I will do with my time and resources, how I spend my holidays.

It reminds me of that lovely reflection by Pedro Arrupe:

Nothing is more practical than finding God
that is, than falling in love in a quite absolute, final way.
 
What you are in love with,
what seizes your imagination,
will affect everything.
 
It will decide
what will get you out of bed in the morning,
what you read
who you know,
what breaks your heart,
and what amazes you with joy and gratitude.
 
Fall in love,
stay in love
and it will decide everything.

2 Responses to “Everyday stuff!”

  1. Catherine fcj Says:

    Lynne-I too am very inspired by this reflection of Pedro Arrupe. This last week I was at a parish meeting for the Year of St. Paul where this reflection came up as we, priest, sister and parishioners were sharing on being a missionary in our everyday lives. I was delighted to see it there and it did inspire sharing.

  2. Anouska fcJ Says:

    It was indeed this very quote that I received the first weekend I met the FCJs, then as I began novitiate and on the back of my ceremony booklet for First Profession it was also there. The words for me keep calling me deeper and reminding me of the reason I continue to try to respond wholeheartedly to God’s call. Let’s live in love.

Leave a Reply

