THE FCJ SISTERS IN MANILA…

by

I am glad I have the opportunity to spend a few days in Manila after Van Van’s final vows and to get to know this amazing city a little better.  Manila is  a huge city, in fact it’s often called a “mega city.”  It has a population of over 11.5 million people, some people even say the population may be as high as 16 million.  There are many wonderful things here in Manila…It is a city rich in history and brimming over with people of faith.  It is both modern and yet quaint in some parts.  However, one thing that disturbs me here is the wide gap between the rich and the poor.  While this is something we all live with in every part of the world (and we are all responsible for) the extreme poverty that exists in parts here is shocking.  I am deeply moved and also challenged to live life far, far more justly. I ask myself what more can I do so that others can have the opportunities in life that I have? Our FCJ sisters here work with the extremely poor in several ways…I am so glad that they are making such a difference to some of our world’s most destitute people.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,285 other followers

